Back
cranbrook_skyscraper.

Katrin Feulner. Pforzheim University - Faculty of Design. New Graduates 2015

Article  /  ArtistsGraduate 2015
Published: 26.06.2015
Katrin Feulner. Pforzheim University - Faculty of Design. New Graduates 2015.
Mail:
katrinfeulnerE-mailgmail.com
Author:
Pforzheim University / School of Design
Edited by:
Klimt02
Edited at:
Gothenburg
Edited on:

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.

Intro
Katrin collects iron bars and tubes of leftover pieces and scrapyard junk. Her friends help her in her passion of gathering parts of overproduction and neglected pieces. She lets her finds age in her drawers and workbench and when she considers them ready she starts to transform them into jewellery. 
Pforzheim University - Faculty of Design, Pforzheim, Germany.

Katrin Feulner - Arbeiten
This year, in February 2015, I graduated with the Bachelor of Arts in Jewellery And Everyday Objects at Pforzheim University - Faculty of Design. The title of my final project is Arbeiten. The meaning of this german word is ambiguous, similar to the english Work. It means the act of working and the pieces that come out of this process.

I asked myself: What is working? What do we do, when we are doing something? Is it only to safe the existence of ourselves, or should work and life inseparably linked together?  Of course every person has different thoughts about this questions. But for me, Work is the connection to the world that surrounds me. It's the link between social, mental and physical activity.
My jewellery is made out of objects that were already there before. I only take the objects to pieces, change the original form and put them together in new relations. Often the making process needs a lot of time, because I only use my hands for working. Almost no machine is used that could speed up or simplify the process.