Open Call for the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022. 5th edition

Open call  /  20 Jul 2021  -  25 Oct 2021
Published: 18.10.2021
LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2021.

© By the author. Read Copyright.

The LOEWE FOUNDATION has opened the call for entries to the fifth edition of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize, an international award celebrating excellence in craftsmanship. The LOEWE FOUNDATION seeks to recognise uniquely talented artisans whose artistic vision, technical skill and determination to innovate will set new standards for the future of craft. The winning works will be featured in an exhibition and accompanying catalogue in Seoul in Spring 2022.
About the Craft Prize
The LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize seeks to acknowledge and support international artisans of any age (over 18) or gender who demonstrate an exceptional ability to create objects of superior aesthetic value. By identifying work that reinterprets existing knowledge to make it relevant today while reflecting its maker’s personal language and distinct hand, the LOEWE FOUNDATION aims to highlight the continuing contribution of craft to the culture of our time.

All entries should
- fall within an area of applied arts, such as ceramics, bookbinding, enamel work, jewellery, lacquer, metal, furniture, leather, textiles, glass, paper, wood, etc.
- be an original work, handmade or partly handmade
- have been created in the last five years
- be one-of a-kind
- have won no prizes previously
- demonstrate artistic intent.
The Prize for the winning entry is 50,000 euros. The winning work selected by the Jury, as well as the works of the finalists selected by the Experts Panel will be included in an exhibition and accompanying catalogue “LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022”, on view in Seoul.

How to participate
Read the Rules of Entry and make sure you comply with all requirements. All participants must be professional artisans 18 years or older. Entries may be made by an individual or collective (as a ‘group submission’). All nationalities are welcome.

Complete the online registration in English
You need 2 to 5 photographs of the work (or series) and optionally a video.
Write a brief conceptual statement about the work.

> Rules of Entry LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022
> FAQ's LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2022

Experts Panel
An Experts Panel will shortlist up to 30 Works from among all the entries submitted. These finalists (hereafter called the ‘Finalists’) will be then submitted to the Jury for their final decision.
In this call, the Experts Panel will be composed of:
— Paula Aza, LOEWE Director of Architecture and Visual Merchandising.
— Peter Bauhuis, metal artist and finalist of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2021.
— Antonia Boström, Director of Collections at the Victoria & Albert Museum, London.
— Hyeyoung Cho, Secretary General at the Korea Craft and Design Foundation.
— Sara Flynn, ceramicist and finalist of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2017.
— Jiyong Lee, glass artist and finalist of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize 2021.
— Juha Marttila, LOEWE Leather Goods Design Director.
— Kavita Parmar, textile designer.
— Zizipho Poswa, ceramicist.
— Ramón Puig Cuyàs, jewellery artist.
— Anatxu Zabalbeascoa (Executive Secretary), architecture and design correspondent for El País

The Jury for this call will be made up of:
— Jonathan Anderson, LOEWE Creative Director.
— Naoto Fukasawa, designer and Director of the Japan Folk Crafts Museum, Tokyo.
— Olivier Gabet, Director of the Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Paris.
— Hongnam Kim, President of the National Trust of Korea.
— Fanglu Lin, winner of the LOEWE FOUNDATION Craft Prize fourth edition.
— Enrique Loewe, LOEWE FOUNDATION Honorary President.
— Magdalene Odundo, ceramicist.
— Wang Shu, architect and Pritzker Prize winner.
— Deyan Sudjic, essayist and Director Emeritus of the Design Museum, London.
— Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and RIBA Stirling Prize winner.
— Abraham Thomas, Curator of Modern Architecture, Design and Decorative Arts at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
— Patricia Urquiola, architect and industrial designer.
— Anatxu Zabalbeascoa (Chairwoman), architecture and design correspondent for El País

The LOEWE FOUNDATION was established as a private cultural Foundation in 1988 by Enrique Loewe Lynch, a fourth-generation member of LOEWE’s founding family. Today, under the direction of his daughter Sheila Loewe, the Foundation continues to promote creativity, support educational programmes and safeguard heritage in the fields of poetry, dance, photography, art and craft. The Foundation was awarded the Gold Medal for Merit in the Fine Arts, the highest honour granted by the Spanish Government, in 2002.
One of the primary purposes for which the LOEWE FOUNDATION was established was to support design and craftsmanship.