AJF Award 2012

Award  /  01 Jun 2012  -  30 Sep 2012
Published: 10.07.2012
AJF Award 2012.
Mill Valley
Susan Kempin
DEADLINE: 30/09/2012
Farrah Al-Dujaili. Brooch: Untitled, 2010. Copper, brass, enamel paint, pencil, watercolor pencil, pastel. 18 x 16 x 18.5 cm. Farrah Al-Dujaili
Brooch: Untitled, 2010
Copper, brass, enamel paint, pencil, watercolor pencil, pastel
18 x 16 x 18.5 cm
© By the author. Read Copyright.

The purpose of the Emerging Artist Award (EAA) is to acknowledge promise, innovation and individuality in the work of emerging jewelers and to advance the career of a promising artist.

Since 2000, AJF has been offering the Emerging Artist Award, which recognizes promise, innovation and individuality in the work of an emerging jeweler. AJF aims to advocate for contemporary art jewelry through education, appreciation and support for the field. The EAA is one of the primary ways in which AJF directly supports and promotes contemporary art jewelry (and those who make it) and the award acknowledges that the transition from study/training to professional practice is a sometimes difficult one.

The EAA is awarded to makers of contemporary art jewelry who have completed their academic/professional training and are making new work as part of their post-training career. As well as receiving US $7,500, the winner of the EAA will have their work shown at SOFA NY or COLLECT in London with an AJF member gallery and will give a short talk as part of the lecture series. Their work will also be featured in an AJF advertisement.

Currently, the EAA is open for applications on a yearly basis. The winner is selected by a jury comprised of professionals and collectors from the contemporary art jewelry field, including the previous winner of the EAA.


Amount of Award
An unrestricted cash award of $7500 will be given each year.

The winner is expected to travel to SOFA New York or to COLLECT in London to attend the award presentation.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:
_Maker of wearable art jewelry.
_Must have completed academic/professional training and be out of school with date of graduation at _least one year from date of submission of the EAA application; self-taught artists may apply.
_Work submitted must have been unsupervised; work from BFA/MFA shows may NOT be submitted.
_Artists who have received honorable mentions in past years may apply if they remain eligible.

The jury will consist of three persons, two of whom must be members of AJF and could include the following to achieve balance and diversity of viewpoint/opinion:

1 curator
1 artist (previous year’s winner, unless unable to serve)
1 collector

Jury review will take place in October/November. Work will be judged on originality, depth of concept, continuity of design and quality of craftsmanship.

There will be two rounds of review; those scoring highest in the first round of individual review by each juror will be moved to the second round for group jury review.

Jurors may request an optional, third-round review of interviews with applicants.

Award Notification
The winning artist will be immediately notified by telephone and email.
All applicants will be informed by email after the winning artist is notified.
The winning entry will be announced in the AJF newsletter and on the AJF website in December.

Post-award Promotion
The winning artist will be invited to deliver a brief presentation at SOFA New York or COLLECT in London, where their work will be featured prominently by an AJF member gallery. 


Emerging Artists Award Recipients:

2011: Farrah Al-Dujaili
2010: Agnes Larsson
2009: Sharon Massey
2008: Masumi Kataoka
2007: Andrea Janosik
2006: Natalya Pinchuk
2005: Sergey Jivetin
2004: Amie Louise Plante


Gail Hufjay