Friedrich Becker Prize 2020

Award  /  23 Jun 2020
Published: 19.05.2020
Friedrich Becker Prize 2020.
Christiane Weber-Stöber
Image from the exhibition 25 years Made in Hanau..
Image from the exhibition 25 years Made in Hanau.

© By the author. Read Copyright.

The internationally renowned Friedrich Becker Prize is awarded every three years by the Society for Goldsmith Art Hanau. Due to the international significance of the prize for the goldsmith's craft and in recognition of all the submissions from well over 100 artists from more than 16 countries, the Foundation and jury wanted to avoid cancellation and, especially in these days, send a positive signal for the goldsmith's art, craft and artists.

This year, the award ceremony will take place entirely in digital space on the specially created website.
In awarding the Friedrich Becker Prize - donated by Hildegard Becker (1928–2018) - the Gesellschaft für Goldschmiedekunst (Association for Goldsmiths’ Art), Hanau wishes to commemorate Friedrich Becker as an extraordinary individual and important designer, and in accordance with his spirit, to recognize the best of the succeeding generation of designers.

Professor Friedrich Becker (1922–1997) was one of the outstanding artistic personalities of our time. As an internationally renowned goldsmith, as a creator of kinetic objects, and as a designer within the Düsseldorf art scene, he had a formative influence on the goldsmiths’ art of the second half of the twentieth century. He was awarded first prizes for his work and received the highest accolades from all over the world. Prestigious museums have included his work in their collections and have shown them in numerous exhibitions.

The Friedrich Becker Prize is endowed with 10.000,00 € and has been awarded every three years since 1999 by the Gesellschaft für Goldschmiedekunst, Hanau, for outstanding, independent design with highest-quality execution.

Previous prize-winners: The Friedrich Becker Prize has previously been awarded to Rudolf Bott (1999), Anette Walz (2002), Peter Bauhuis (2005), Robert Baines (2008), Alexander Vohswinkel (2011) Sam Tho Duong (2014) and Michael Becker (2017). 

Sam Tho Duong, goldsmith, jewelry designer, Pforzheim.
Cornelie Holzach M.A., museum director, Schmuckmuseum Pforzheim.
Prof. Andrea Wippermann, diploma designer, Hochschule Wismar/Design Faculty.

Award Ceremony: 
The award ceremony will take place exclusively online.
The exhibition will take place on July 7th, 2020, at the Stadtmuseum in Düsseldorf. The laudation will be held by Dr. Sabine Runde, senior custodian, curator of Applied Art from the Middle Ages to the Present, Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt.
The prize winner and selected works will be shown until August 23rd, 2020 in the Stadtmuseum and then in the German Goldsmiths’ House in Hanau.
Der Friedrich Becker Preis im Jahr 2020. So geht Schmuck!
© By the author. Read Copyright.