Friedrich Becker Prize 2023

Award  /  06 May 2023
Published: 14.12.2022
Friedrich Becker Prize 2023.
Christiane Weber-Stöber
Junwon Jung. Brooch: Box, 2020. Galvanized steel. Photo by: GfG. Awarded at: Friedrich Becker Prize 2020. Junwon Jung
Brooch: Box, 2020
Galvanized steel
Photo by: GfG
Awarded at: Friedrich Becker Prize 2020
© By the author. Read Copyright.

The internationally renowned Friedrich Becker Prize is awarded every three years by the Society for Goldsmith Art Hanau. 
In awarding the Friedrich Becker Prize - donated by Hildegard Becker (1928–2018) - the Gesellschaft für Goldschmiedekunst (Association for Goldsmiths’ Art), Hanau wishes to commemorate Friedrich Becker as an extraordinary individual and important designer, and in accordance with his spirit, to recognize the best of the succeeding generation of designers.

Professor Friedrich Becker (1922–1997) was one of the outstanding artistic personalities of our time. As an internationally renowned goldsmith, as a creator of kinetic objects, and as a designer within the Düsseldorf art scene, he had a formative influence on the goldsmiths’ art of the second half of the twentieth century. He was awarded first prizes for his work and received the highest accolades from all over the world. Prestigious museums have included his work in their collections and have shown them in numerous exhibitions.

The Friedrich Becker Prize is endowed with 10.000,00 € and has been awarded every three years since 1999 by the Gesellschaft für Goldschmiedekunst, Hanau, for outstanding, independent design with highest-quality execution.

Previous prize-winners: The Friedrich Becker Prize has previously been awarded to Rudolf Bott (1999), Anette Walz (2002), Peter Bauhuis (2005), Robert Baines (2008), Alexander Vohswinkel (2011) Sam Tho Duong (2014) and Michael Becker (2017) and Junwon Jung (2020).

Schnuppe von Gwinner, art historian, author, Leipzig.
Dr. Olaf Thormann, director GRASSI Museum für Angewandte Kunst, Leipzig.
Silvia Weidenbach, jewellery artist, lecturer, Glasgow School of Art, Glasgow, and Royal College of Art in London.

Award Ceremony:
The award ceremony and opening of the exhibition will take place on May 6, 2023, at the Stadtmuseum in Düsseldorf. The laudation will be held by Dr. Sabine Runde, chief custodian of duty, Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt.
The prize winner and selected works will be shown until May 29, 2023 in the Stadtmuseum and then in the German Goldsmiths’ House in Hanau till July 9, 2023.