Mari Funaki Award for Contemporary Jewellery 2018

Award  /  14 Aug 2018  -  15 Sep 2018
Published: 19.06.2018
Gallery Funaki
Katie Scott

© By the author. Read Copyright.

We received a record 486 entries this year, from 45 countries. The selected work will be exhibited at Gallery Funaki in a major exhibition from Tuesday 14 August - Saturday 15 September 2018.
The Mari Funaki Award for Contemporary Jewellery was established in 2014 to celebrate the life of our friend and founder, and to recognize the talents of emerging and established artists worldwide.

The winners will be announced at the opening of the Award exhibition on Tuesday, 14 August 2018.

Selected artists:
Paul Adie (Germany/Scotland), Karin Roy Andersson (Sweden), Peter Bauhuis (Germany), Naama Bergman (Israel), Julie Blyfield (Australia), Welfe Bowyer (New Zealand), Lin Cheung (United Kingdom), Cédric Chevalley (Switzerland), Sungho Cho (South Korea), Katie Collins (Australia), Conversation Piece (Beatrice Brovia & Nicolas Cheng) (Italy/Sweden & Hong Kong/Sweden), Jess Dare (Australia), Marion Delarue (France), Patricia Domingues (Portugal), Katrin Feulner (Germany), Benedikt Fischer (Austria), Samira Goetz (Germany), Yu Hiraishi (Japan), Melanie Isverding (Germany), Cara Johnson (Australia), Jiro Kamata (Japan/Germany), Lore Langendries (Belgium), Yutaka Minegishi (Japan/Germany), Lea Rohde (Germany), Karin Seufert (Germany), Hea Lim Shin (South Korea), Jelizaveta Suska (Latvia/Sweden), Catherine Truman (Australia), Carolin Volz (Germany), Lauralai Wilson (Australia), Aurelia Yeomans (Australia).

The judges for the 2018 competition will award prizes in two categories: an acquisitive Established Artist prize of A$8000, with the winning piece entering the collection of the National Gallery of Victoria (subject to the approval of the Board of Trustees) and an Emerging Artist prize of A$2000.

This year's judges are:
Jane Devery, Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Victoria.
Chloë Powell, Curator at Craft Victoria and Co-director of Radiant Pavilion.
Manon van Kouswijk, Contemporary jeweller and Jewellery Studio Co-ordinator and Lecturer at Monash University.

Key dates:
Work/s received by: Monday 30 July 2018.
Exhibition dates: Tuesday 14 August – Saturday 15 September 2018.

The Award is open to contemporary jewellers worldwide, at any stage of their practice. There are two categories for entry: emerging and established.
Students and those within three (3) years of having graduated from any course below a Ph.D. are considered emerging artists. You must nominate on the entry form which category you are entering.
Only contemporary jewellery will be accepted for selection. Silversmithing and object are not eligible.
Mari Funaki, 2006..
Mari Funaki, 2006.

© By the author. Read Copyright.