Back

Flying Circus. A Movie and Performance Project Online and at Weltraum Gallery

Exhibition  /  07 Mar 2021  -  14 Mar 2021
Published: 22.02.2021
Flying Circus. Image: ZLR Betriebsimperium..
Flying Circus. Image: ZLR Betriebsimperium.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.

Intro
Flying Circus is organized by ZLR Betriebsimperium and will be presenting artworks - videos, jewelry art, textile art, performance - inspired by the circus and its tradition – literally or metaphorically. The artists' videos are screened at Weltraum Gallery Munich from 11 to 14 March and are shown online on the 7th and 14th of March.

Artist list

Mara Colecchia, Lena Echelle, Bárbara García, Natasha Mercado, Adriana Radulescu, Loukia Richards, Jason Stein, Christoph Ziegler
Acrobats, bear tamers, horse dancers, gladiators – the joyful illusions of the circus and its characters have been a source of inspiration for artists since Roman times. The circus also evokes the image of the persisting artist who keeps performing despite existential hardships.

Panem et circenses (bread and games), a practice of Roman emperors, became a synonym for reducing the people's needs to basic instincts. The circus was the only place where the emperor's subjects could freely voice demands, mock or even express resentment to his authority.

Guest stars: Aino Astrid Gaedtke, Jorinde Nisse, Hannah Stippl, Ophélia Leclercq (PÿR).

 
  • Flying Circus at Weltraum Gallery
When: Thursday, 11 Mar to Sunday, 14 Mar, 6 pm - 11 pm.

 
  • Flying Circus live Online Presentation
Join the moderated live streaming presentation to watch videos, artists' interviews, and the show Flying Circus at Weltraum Gallery.

When: Sunday, 7 Mar and Sunday, 14 Mar.
Local time: Athens, 7 pm (GMT+2).
Diferent time zones: San Francisco, 9 am / New York, 12 (noon) / Buenos Aires, 2 pm / London, 5 pm / Amsterdam, 6 pm / Moscow, 8 pm / Bangkok, 12 (midnight) / Peking, 1 am (8 Mar and 15 Mar) / Seoul, 2 am (8 Mar and 15 Mar).
Duration: 60 min. Please, come as early as possible, there are only 100 e-seats available.

>> Click here to participate in the Flying Circus Zoom meeting
ID: 998 026 4362
Password: circus

>> To participate in the live stream via Facebook, access Loukia Richards' account.

>> For more information on the project, check the Flying Circus website.
Natasha Mercado, Self Care Clown. Photo by Natasha Mercado..
Natasha Mercado, Self Care Clown. Photo by Natasha Mercado.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Jason Stein, Sleight Of Hand. Photo by Jason Stein..
Jason Stein, Sleight Of Hand. Photo by Jason Stein.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Mara Colecchia, Vintage Replay N.1. Photo by Mara Colecchia..
Mara Colecchia, Vintage Replay N.1. Photo by Mara Colecchia.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Loukia Richards, Trinity of Cats. Photo by Christoph Ziegler..
Loukia Richards, Trinity of Cats. Photo by Christoph Ziegler.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Christoph Ziegler, Scales. Photo by Christoph Ziegler..
Christoph Ziegler, Scales. Photo by Christoph Ziegler.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Adriana Radulescu, This is not what it seems to be, or is it?. Photo by Adriana Radulescu..
Adriana Radulescu, This is not what it seems to be, or is it?. Photo by Adriana Radulescu.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Lena Echelle, Affective Perception. Photo by Lena Echelle..
Lena Echelle, Affective Perception. Photo by Lena Echelle.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Bárbara Garcia, Outsider Jewels. Photo by Sata & Barbara Garcia..
Bárbara Garcia, Outsider Jewels. Photo by Sata & Barbara Garcia.

© By the author. Read Klimt02.net Copyright.
Appreciate APPRECIATE